trick but I would be interested in feedback from anybody who might

have first-hand experience installing I-Beams. Because the ceiling is

relatively low (and I am relatively high, 6’ 6”) it is imperative that the

beams protrude down into the room as little as possible. This is why I

have decided on the steel I-Beam approach as opposed to a 4 x header

or some type of structural composite lumber beam. If I can pull it off I

should be able to encase the I-Beams in a soffit and have myself a poor

mans coffered ceiling.

Kindly peruse the attached thumbnails and let me know what you think.

post-126-0-23857400-1416464038_thumb.png

post-126-0-29347800-1416464053_thumb.png

post-126-0-34360400-1416464070_thumb.png

post-126-0-78957700-1416464087_thumb.png

post-126-0-95380000-1416464104_thumb.png

Rich,

I'm not an engineer and this assumes you've calc'd the new I-Beam to carry the loads you'll be carrying, given that, we work with steel quite often and your design should work fine but it's a bit overkill based on the engineered designs I've used in the past. Overkill is typically a good thing (versus underkill - is that word?) but you can get away with a lot less and still be very safe structurally as the 4 X 6 post should provide very strong support. If your 4th picture is accurate you really just need to trap the I-Beams between 2 king posts just like you would with any other beam.

Maybe turn the side supports into those king studs and and replace the bottom through bolt with a series of 16d nails, the upper through bolt eliminated and the angle brackets replaced with A-35's. Maybe add a strap across the 2 x 6's. This all depends on the actual loads and structural stresses which can't really be discerned from your post or pics but we use steel all the time and unless it's a moment frame or absorbing any particular shear stresses the construction techniques are really pretty simple.